How do i fit my lowering springs?

P

PaddyPower

Now i am no expert, good with my hands but only have basic knowledge of cars.

WILL I BE ABLE TO DO THIS OR NOT?

If you think someone of my ability would be able to carry out this task is there any chance someone could tell me how to go about doing it?

JU5TY

Take the shocks off...

Put spring compressors on the spring (very important or they could take your face off!), then use a sunken ring spanner to undo the nut at the top of the shock whilst holding the little nut on the top of the shaft with an 8mm spanner (if my memory serves me correctly). Remove the top mount, fit the new spring (compress it with the spring compressors) then put the top mount back on.

Keira

i always undo the center nut abit, not all the way whilst the shocks still on the car, dont matter if its abit tight then as you aint trying to hold it in one hand and undo with the other :wink:

Also, when fitting the springs make sure you've got the damper fully extended cos you will look a right tw@t sitting there wondering why you cant compress the springs enough to go over them :shock:

not that i know of anyone stupid enough to not extend them fully :wink:

P

PaddyPower

Any diagrams?

Should i try my self or take it down the garage?

stugtir

yes m8 u should definatly try it yourself. just take ur time with it, even if it take u a day at least u will have learnt how to do it by the end of it!

as the other lads have already said its not hard att all.

just make sure u have the correct tools to do the job.

set of spanners
spring compressors
socket set

youll be fine m8

stu

P

PaddyPower

Can this be done from a jack? I presum the wheel has to be removed

Keira

following that reply i think you might be better off getting someone else to do it :wink:

it does help if the wheels are removed first :roll: :lol:

JU5TY

lol!

Yes the wheel needs to come off so you can remove the whole suspension strut. You cant do it on the car...