Has my clutch gone??

A

andypulsargti-r

my clutch (standard as far as im aware) :? is very heavy and often crunches into 5th :shock: gear also sometimes whines when pulling away in first gear. as the clutch is heavy it often means i crunch the gears when giving it some "heavy right foot'' :D anyone got any ideas? After all i dont wanna look silly again when i cant outdo an mr2 cos i miss 4th! :oops:

P

poppa

i'm also getting that whining sound when oulling away in first but i have been assured its not my clutch but more likely gearbox and should probably the gearbox oil changed before making further assumptions.

Hopefully someone else from here can shed some light on the whining sound.

A

andypulsargti-r

my bro's work colleague at ford said gearbox oil was fine and says clutch is on way out but as he is a ford mechanic and has probably never seen or driven a gti-r before id prefer a 2nd opinion from a "r" owner

D

DOT2DOT

Im no R expert, but im a mechanic and it sounds more like a release mechanism problem. Have you tried bleeding the fluid to see if it makes any difference. Wouldnt account for the stiffness though. Perhaps a master cylinder problem.

A

andypulsargti-r

ive not looked at the master cylinder (not even crossed my mind to be honest) but as this is my first r i dont know what the clutches usually feel like although i am aware that they are much heavier than your standard road cars as i am led to believe the standard clutch is/can take 600kg whatever that means!

T

Trev-R

Try bleeding the clutch. Done mine a couple of weeks ago due to the slave cylinder pipe going, the fluid was black! :shock: Pedal feels much smoother, worth doing!

A

andypulsargti-r

cool ill try bleeding the bitch and see what she says cheers trev-R

J

justin666

Gonna try not to scare you here :D