Toluene and Octane Boost

B

beast14

I currently use toluene when i'm filling my tank......is it ok to mix this with octance boost like "104".........i've tried it several times before when i'm running high boost and have not detonated......but i'm wondering if this will cause any damage to my internals...........is it safe???

skiddusmarkus

I think toluelene(sp) is carconegenic(sp again) and you have to be very careful when using it-rubber gloves and protective clothing at least.Not worth the risk IMO.

MrMischief

It's carcinogenic so watch what you're doing...

...I use xylene which is just as bad, but if you look at 99% of octane boosters that's what they contain - so they are carcinogenic to a certain degree.

10% ups the RON by 1 number
20% by 2...
30% by 3...
etc etc

Steve

PS I'm an industrial chemist to trade :)

A

Anonymous

Was speaking to a bloke i know that used to work on an r that was used in rallys, back in the mid 90's. he said that thery were originaly using aviation fuel, i think he said, but they kept blowing pistons, so he spoke to nismo, and they informed that theres no map in the ecu, for that fuel, and said to use tolulene, so they did and he swears by the stuff, not sure if they were using it straight or mixed though......
AND AS FOR IT BEING CARSENAGENIC, IM POSITIVE U ANT GOIN TO DIE FROM IT, UNLESS U GET EXPOSSED TO IT EVERY DAY FOR YEARS,,, I MEAN FUCK IM A PRINTER BY TRADE, AND THE SOLVENT WE USE, ALL DAY EVERY DAY WITHOUT GLOVES, HAS ONE OF THE WORSE CARSENEGENICS, IN IT THAT ANY SOLVENT HAS IN IT THAT CAN BE STILL USED, AND I ANT DIEING OF NOTHING,,,,(YET)..

Fast Guy

Moderators
Staff member
Aviation fuel comes in 2 (main) flavours Avgas and Kerosene. Kerosene is basically a diesel fuel and runs at very high compressions in jet engines and Avgas is a highly leaded (even tho it claims to be low lead) fuel for piston engines.