Car running rough/lower boost after modifications?

A

Andybtsn

After fitting my FMIC and decat on Sunday the car ran ok although had dropped boost wise a tiny bit, was more like 14psi and not 15psi anymore?

After driving it home from work tonight, the day had been really hot but the lag was really bad and the boost was a bit stuttery, any reasons behind this?

Did anyone ever see a big difference when fitting a FMIC?

Checked all boost pipes and they all seem ok. :?

A

AJ4

saw a small drop in boost, didn't notice any more lag really

A

Andybtsn

Why does this occur?

Yes people I'm a newbie, "oh dear" doesn't really help me much...!

Fire & skill

Vintage member
it does sound like you have a leak mate, i only noticed my car being slightly more laggy after fitting the front mount, was running rough as well but all due to a hose clip had slipped off and was losing boost / drawing air

A

Andybtsn

Hmm, well the boost pipes that the boost gauge is connected to could be suspect as I dd have to disconnect the three pipes that connect to a T piece, the pipes going to the FMIC all seem very tight and correct

Fast Guy

Moderators
Staff member
Check any hoses you have fitted, any you might have disconnected while fitting and then check the exhaust manifold/turbo area for nuts coming loose.

A

AJ4

the boost drop and extra lag is normal. The drop is because there is a much greater volume of air being compressed with all the extra pipework. Every time you breath out of your mouth you pressurise the air of the whole world ( ! ), but because the volume of air you are blowing into is so big it doesn't have much effect overall. Blowing into a small volume increases the pressure more.