Where to install independant coolant temp sensor?

A

asaisbhan

Hi guys - newbie here. I own a 1997 P11 Primera that has a GTi-R engine in it. I bought the car like that...so I'm still learning things on it. I have a couple problems really that are inter- related. First off - my fans seem to be always on. Even in the morning when cold - once I turn the key to 'On' - the fans are on. I'm guessing the car was not wired properly. I took the thermostat out as well, and has been running it like that for the past few months. (I live in Trinidad - and it's HOT these days - so I'm not too worried about running without the thermostat.) Ever since I've had the car - since August 2006 - the car has been having a 'suspected' overheating problem. My coolant temp gauge would go up to 3/4 the scale or even more in the hot mid-day sun in traffic. The temp gauge goes up even faster when I throw the a/c on. However, for the way that I have been driving it, and the length of time that I have been driving it like that - my head gasket has not blown (as yet). The coolant level in the rad remains constant, and the level in the overflow bottle drops by a few cc's every week.

On mornings when I start, the temp would reach to the half-mark within a few minutes of driving (2-3 mins), but would remain pretty steady at the half, until I start getting into traffic, 'zesty' driving, or I throw the a/c on. I am inclined to believe that it is some sort of electrical problem. I have changed both the gauge cluster, as well as the (single wire) temperature sensor, but no change.

I recently bought an Autometer (mechanical) coolant temp gauge, and I would like to install this as an independant gauge, and want to ask you guys where would be a good place to locate the sender. Bear in mind that it is a mechanical gauge, and the wiring to the gauge is about 6 feet (I think). I would prefer somewhere closer to the outlet side of the engine.

Do you all have any ideas or suggestions on this?
Thanks. Anil.