Weird Problem!!

gunmetalgtir

My cars underperforming! Sometimes it goes fine, other times it holds back but it boosts fine, the standard gauge and aftermarket ones are still going to the normal levels!

It just doesn't feel as fast as it should, the other day I was comming off of a slip road and put my foot down boosted fine then all of a sudden it stopped boosting and I almost hit my head off of the windscreen!! Gauges were working fine and it sounded as if air was escaping from under the bonnet!!

I've checked for boost leak but I can't see anything, also would it not hold back all of the time if it was boost leak???

The car also it's reving up as fast as what it used to, anyone got any ideas as what could be causing this??

Thanks,

Grant

Sounds like a boost leak to me (I have plenty of experience with these) You may not be able to see it. Ideally you want to pressure test the intake system, this would show up any leaks.

P

pulsarboby

possible fuel starvation, was the tank very low when you accelerated?
check your fuel filter!
also check the clamps and pipes to your intercooler, they maybe loose or leaking under heavy acceleration

houghy_1

Boost leak!!!!!!

Ive just had exactly the same thing.
It would boost fine and hard then up the revs it would be like someone had cut the power very violently and suddenly.

I found out the silicone hose that runs from the plenum to the actuator had torn through cos of me overtightening the hose with a jubilee:oops: :doh: :der:

I would put money on it that its someting similar.

Matt

gunmetalgtir

pulsarboby said:
possible fuel starvation, was the tank very low when you accelerated?
check your fuel filter!
also check the clamps and pipes to your intercooler, they maybe loose or leaking under heavy acceleration
I never run the car with less than 1/4 tank and it had about 1/2 a tank when this happend! One of the intercooler clamps was loose but I had changed this before this had happend!!