Shitting myself! Reasurance needed please!

P

PaddyPower

Hello there i got up this lovely morning and decided that today was the day that my shiny new fuel pump would be fitted.

Now i am no mechanic, but i am very handy with tools and most things providing i have a decent set of instructions available. I would never try something i though would be dangerous to me or my car if i was not sure of my capabilities.

Anyway spent about 45 minutes getting to the stage where i am about to put the new walbro in and wack it all back together.

Fisrt of all, wires in the fuel tank!!! Thought possibely one to feed the pump, but there are shit loads running through there.
It is not the wires already there that is worrying me but the new one that i am about to connect. Now in the instructions si am told to cut the wires about 2" from the pump and connect to the new one. This means that two wires that are joined by a straight through conector and my faithful crimping tools are going to be sat in a tank full of fuel! :shock:

My questions to you are;

1) Would it not be a better idea to join the wires nearer the top of the tank, (less time submurged in fuel)?

2) Am I going to dy when i turn the key! :shock: :shock:

Also a far less worrying problem is that i was under the impression that the walbro required a foam sleve to be put round it to make it the same size as the original? Is this the case or do you just chuck the old rubbers round it and qwedge it in?

Tried pursauding my dad to be the one to turn the key while i sat in the garage but, well i am sure you can imaging his response!

Help please :roll:

E

Edd

wear a flame retardent suit :lol:

have you read Gingas how to guide for fitting fuel pump in how to section, might have some helpful tips?

P

PaddyPower

yes mate i have but his comment of now you should be afraidm, very affraid just before he tells you to start it up is what triggered my pant filling experience!

E

Edd