Removing the thermostat

K

KrissJ

How do I do it and is it difficult? I've doen a search and can't find anything.

Bear in mind I'm a bit of a novice with engines (not even sure what the thermostat looks like or where exactly it is :oops: ) so would appreciate instructions to be detailed.

Big thanks to who ever can help :D

O

Odin

I did this yesterday matey it took all of 5 min's....

Just look at the left hand top of your engine from the front of the car beside the dizzy and you will see a cover with 3 bolts on it remove them and give it a little tap with a rubber mallet and it will pop off then just clean both surface's with a scraper put some new sealent on the cover after fitting your replacement state of cause and then bolt up. :wink:

rob

geetee

I'm such a nob sometimes.

I thought you meant remove it completely - not replace it...

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

K

KrissJ

Cheers.

I actually did mean remove it completely (I've just had a new thermostat put on). My car's overheating at the moment and I've heard/been told that it often cures it if you take it off.

I was told this by a mechanic at a nissan dealer who said he'd done it as well on his R5 turbo and it helped no end. I've also seen quite afew people on here saying they've done it and it cured overheating probs.

Just wondered how it was done and if I needed any adaptors etc. to join pipes up once it was off.

M

MORRISMINOR GTI-R

nope, just take it out and it will run fine. take off the bottom rad hose where it goes into the engine and take out the 3 12mm bolts

GINGA

If you've got overheating problems with the thermostat fitted you've either got a duff stat or something else is wrong and removing the stat completely is only a temp fix to a bigger problem you'll be better off finding and fixing the real problem before things get worse :(