problem!

Alexpie

hi noticed a slight blow in my exhaust manifold yesterday, went to drive the car it started fine as normal pulled off was ok for a second or two, then i had a big backfire and the car stalled tried starting again and it was idling very lumpy and kept cutting out, further inspection it had blown one of the intercooler pipes off aswell, so i re attatched that properly and it still ran the same if a bit worse, it could drive but would go 40mph max and wouldnt go above 1500rpm before it would just sort of misfire. engine and oil temps and oil pressure was normal and no engine warning lights apart from the abs one(as its removed). im no expert by all means so i thought id ask, only thing i could think of is that the hole in the manifold got blown bigger and there is no manifold pressure atall which is making it run like that as there is no other knocks or bangs and everything else seems fine. any ideas would be very much appreciated as i was out till quarter to 1 this morning waiting for a flatbed!!! and i miss it already haha!

PobodY

Moderators
Staff member
Where is the exhaust leaking; between the head and the manifold from the gasket, or somewhere else?

I think you need to do a fault code check (and maybe clear the fault if it's registered one) because it sounds like it's in limp mode. - I'm just wondering if the exhaust leak is so bad that the turbo doesn't spin at all... which would mean that it's a dirty-great blockage in your intake system (rather than forcing air through it).

If you're not showing any faults, I'd get that leak fixed and see if the problem is solved; even muffler repair putty might do the trick. It's not a permanent solution though.

Alexpie