misfire diagnosis help

T

thelegend

Hello bit of an introduction :)

I am a bit of a newbie in the world of the GTIR :)and have recently bought myself an import on a L plate that someone was selling for a very sensible price due to an unknown misfire, being quite handy around engines I decided to take it on as the rest of the car was in very good condition.

I have browsed around the common faults section and so for between me and the guy i bought it off tried the following

new plugs
new leads
new dizzy cap
re-earth the MAF
rewire and earth fuel pump
new fuel filter

Still no joy around 3.5k as the boost kicks in it hesitates then misfires all the way to 7k although sometimes better than others. One thing i have noticed is on the pipe that connects to the turbo (3 bolt flange) one of the bolts has been sheared, this looks as if it could be leaking do you think this could cause the misfire problems mentioned?

If not please throw some more ideas at me so i can get this sorted, the engine isn't throwing any error codes so its probably something stupid.

cheers

paul

gtirneil

Mine was doing this for 6 months before i spotted the problem, on mine it was a little grey clip that had come undone so would misfire when boosting, or going over bumps, i have no idea what its called tho :oops:

Its just infront or the factory oil catch tank on mine

P

powerfreack

it could be down to the pipe with the 3 nuts in as that will be the intecooler and that would cause misfire if its not tightend up propley

olso check your manifold

and what plugs did you fit and what is the gap on them

daz

i sheared a bolt off the compressor outlet (ie 3 bolt flange) ages ago on one of my old turbos and it made no difference at all and no mis fire. i like rishi would point the finger at the coil inj resistor pack or too big a spark plug gap. ie when it comes on boost it blows the spark out

T

thelegend

thanks for the replies so far :)