GTI-R engine rebuild

A

Anonymous

hi, newbie here, :) I am looking at buying a GTI-R with a mullered engine, can someone give me a good idea of how much a rebuild is going to cost doing the work myself?? How much is a secondhand head etc, a set of pistons and all the gaskets and bearings going to set me back do you recon?? cheers in advance 8)

Moved to regular maintenance

O

Odin

Well I have a spare head for sale and that would set you back £250 :wink: .

As for the rest I'm getting mine done at the moment and it's costing £1500 ish for machineing and assembly.

But a full gasket set is about £200 oil pump £280 water pump £45 new steel head gasket £200 cheaper if you get it from mattey though :wink: .

you can get piston's for about £400 from Mrgtir on the forum.

you'ed prob have to allow £200 ish for bearing I'd of though, New head bolts are £50 from nissan but I'v got a head stud kit that came in at £165 deliverd.

hope this helps fella

rob

A

Anonymous

£280 for an oil pump :eek: :? thats bad!!! but overall not too bad then 8) how difficult are the engines to build, any spec tools etc needed?

O

Odin

RWD_cossie_wil said:
£280 for an oil pump :eek: :? thats bad!!! but overall not too bad then 8) how difficult are the engines to build, any spec tools etc needed?
I think the most important tool is a ring land file just ask Paul :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol: .

I don't think there any more dif to build than any other motor but I'm not an expert that's why I'm getting it done by someone that does :wink: .

And my advice to you is if you only think you know what you doing DON'T DO IT YOURSELF, As the R has a way of biteing you in the ar5e if you cut corner's, JUST ASK PAUL ABOUT THAT TOO :lol: .

rob

A

Anonymous